Getting Started with AWS and Useful Learning Resources

I have been always interested in knowing and learning about Cloud and how does it help in developing a more efficient and robust system or software. But for many of us who are not from a development or DevOps background, it gets sometimes overwhelming on where to get started from and which Cloud Provider to pick from AWS or Azure, or GCP. I chose AWS and here I will be sharing some of the resources which helped me in my learning.

Cloud Certifications, are one of the greatest places to start your cloud learning, as a lot of us do not actually work with the cloud in our day-to-day work.

AWS provides a lot of certification options at different levels details of which can be found here AWS Certifications

I started my journey with AWS Cloud Practioner, the fundamental and understated exam

There are a lot of articles and tweets about skipping the AWS Cloud Practioner and directly moving to the AWS Solutions Architect Associate exam, while it may be correct, for someone like me who had absolutely no knowledge of Cloud, AWS Cloud Practioner gave me an excellent start, something that I have been looking for.

Here are the resources that helped me get started with it.

Udemy Course:

Stephane Maarek's CCP course - this is an excellent course and Stephane provides a wonderful understanding of the important AWS services and it also has good hands-on examples that you do with Stephen in the AWS Free Tier. The course is however a paid one and can be bought under $10 most of the time on the Udemy Sale.

Youtube courses

Andrew Brown's CCP Course Andrew Brown's course offered as part of the freecodecamp channel is also another excellent learning resource, he offers in detailed explanation of the services and their usages

Digital Cloud Notes

Along with the video courses, I found this notes/cheat sheet form Neal Davis's Digital Cloud really helpful

AWS Official Documentation

AWS's offers excellent documentation with examples and step by step guide, and I highly recommend going through these documents at least for the most important services, you can find them here

AWS re-invent videos on Youtube

You can also check out the AWS reinvent videos on their official youtube channel, they provide an in-depth understanding of the services.

I hope these lists help you to get started.

Keep Learning